The Yama & Niyama: First Two Limbs of Yoga Means of Life

There are eight ‘limbs’ to the Yoga Sutras, every describing a distinct facet of the yoga follow, and a distinct step on the ladder to realization. The Yama & Niyama, are the primary two limbs of Yoga in keeping with the ‘The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali’

Yama and Niyama, are the inspiration of the ashta angas of Yoga. By the follow of Yama and Niyama, the practitioner’s thoughts might be purified and made refined, as the start of all practices is the psychological preparation, to be adopted later by the bodily steps, or Asanas. Yamas might be loosely translated as restraints and Niyamas as observances that one has to comply with to start the follow.

Two Limbs of Yoga: The Yama & Niyama

The Yama

The phrase ‘yama’ is commonly translated as ‘restraint’, ‘ethical self-discipline’, or ‘ethical vow’. The Yamas historically information us in the direction of practices involved with the world round us, and in the direction of ourselves.

picture supply:

The 5 Yama are:






relating each to the bodily in addition to psychological airplane.

Ahimsa or non-violence is the primary Yama. Most frequently, non-violence is taken into account an act relevant solely on the bodily airplane. Nonetheless, Ahimsa can occur solely when one minutely research violence or himsa in a single’s nature below completely different circumstances on the earth. Conflicting ideas, anger, and having a powerful dislike for one thing or somebody are all types of violence or himsa. Till one acknowledges the refined methods wherein we exhibit himsa in our day-to-day life, we will be unable to maneuver in the direction of Ahimsa.

Satya or reality is the second Yama. If one is aiming to seek out absolutely the Reality, then one should abide by the reality in all actions of their life. Like non-violence, reality must be practiced within the psychological airplane, in our ideas first, in order that it naturally will get translated into our speech and motion.

Asteya or non-stealing is the third yama. When one desires one thing that belongs to another person, that itself turns into an act of stealing. To maneuver in the direction of Asteya, it’s best to know that the world is for everybody to get pleasure from and never particularly for us to personal or possess. One should be grateful, and thereby scale back the urge to covet.

Brahmacharya or sexual restraint is the fourth yama. Sexual power is an incredible drive that may be harnessed to succeed in larger and subtler realms. By disciplining one’s thoughts, this inventive drive comes below the management of the practitioner of Yoga. This will then be used to know Reality or Brahman, seamlessly reworking people into the divine being he/she is.

Aprigraha or non-possession is the final or the fifth yama. It may be practiced by creating an understanding of the ephemeral nature of all our possessions together with our physique that may anyway, by its very nature, not be with us ceaselessly. This thought liberates us from attachment and helps us simplify our lives to solely the requirements.

The Niyama

The phrase ‘Niyama’ usually interprets as ‘constructive duties’ or ‘observances’, and is regarded as really useful habits for wholesome residing and ‘religious existence’.

picture supply:

Niyama or observance consists of:





    Ishwara Pranidhana.

Sauca means purity and cleanliness. On the psychological airplane it means to chorus from having hatred or ailing will in the direction of anybody.

Santosha might be translated as contentment. A cheerful thoughts comes from a thoughts devoid of distractions, resting within the Purusha, and a deep understanding of the oneness of the world and the beings in it.

Tapah or austerity is derived from the Sanskrit phrase which means warmth. The fireplace of austere practices strikes our actions in the direction of the specified objective of Samadhi, by destroying all our impurities. It then ignites the fireplace of need to seek out the Reality and therefore all our actions in the direction of the fulfilment of that need develop into Tapasya.

Svadhaya is the examine of 1’s self, nature, and dealings with the world. It additionally consists of the examine of scriptures.

Ishwara Pranidhana is dedication or one-pointed consideration to Ishwara (or Purusha in keeping with Yoga). This final Niyama eases the thoughts fully into Samadhi.

Iyengar describes the 2 limbs, Yamas and Niyamas because the ‘golden keys to unlock the religious gates’, as they rework every motion into one which originates from a deeper and extra ‘linked’ place inside ourselves. Devoted adherence to the Yama & Niyamas leads the practitioner in the direction of the specified objective. With life-style adjustments and fixed follow, one is ready to obtain the grace to advance on the religious path. Whether or not you take into account your self ‘religious’ or not although, and whether or not you follow yoga or not, these are all methods wherein we may help ourselves and the world round us to be a greater place.


The Content material just isn’t meant to be an alternative choice to skilled medical recommendation, prognosis, or therapy. At all times search the recommendation of your doctor or different certified well being supplier with any questions you’ll have relating to a medical situation.

#Yama #Niyama #Limbs #Yoga #Life